Elections 2024 What, Where, and Who in the Phase 5

Elections 2024: What, Where and Who in Phase 5?



  • Fifth phase of Elections 2024 is happening in 49 Lok Sabha constituencies

  • Who were the prominent early voters today in Mumbai?

  • Who are the key candidates in the fifth phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2024?

The fifth phase of India’s seven-phase elections has started, covering 49 seats across six states and two union territories. 

The Elections 2024 first four phases happened on April 19, April 26, May 7, and May 13. The fifth phase of voting has begun in 49 seats across six states and two union territories. The next two phases are scheduled for May 25 and June 1, with vote counting set for June 4. Moreover, the voters of Uttar Pradesh, which has 80 Lok Sabha seats, will decide the fate of key candidates from high-profile constituencies including Rae Bareli, Amethi, and Lucknow.

Of the 49 Lok Sabha constituencies, 14 are from Uttar Pradesh, 13 are from Maharashtra, 7 are from West Bengal, 5 are from Bihar, 3 are from Jharkhand, 5 are from Odisha, and one each from Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh. Furthermore, the first round of voter turnout figures in phase 5 till 9 AM was 10.28 per cent. Meanwhile, Odisha has recorded around 6.99 per cent voter turnout in the first two hours of polling in five Lok Sabha constituencies and 35 Assembly segments.

Elections in the fifth round are crucial for Modi because it includes some of the party’s strongholds in states like Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal. However, overall voter turnout has been lower than in previous elections.

Who were the prominent early voters today in Mumbai?

In the fifth phase of voting the prominent early voters today in Mumbai were:

  • Reserve Bank Governor Shaktikanta Das 
  • BSP Chief Mayawati
  • Tata Sons Chairman N Chandrasekaran
  • Union Minister Piyush Goyal
  • Industrialist Anil Ambani
  • Bollywood stars Akshay Kumar, Farhan Akhtar, Rajkummar Rao and Jahnvi Kapoor were also among the early voters in Mumbai.

Who were the prominent early voters today in Mumbai?

Also Read: Success Story Of Mukesh Ambani 

Who are the key candidates in the fifth phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2024?

The key candidates of the fifth phase of Elections 2024 are:

Candidate Name
Key Role/Position
Rahul Gandhi Congress Contesting from Raebareli & Wayanad
Rajnath Singh BJP Senior leader
Smriti Irani BJP Union Minister, contesting in Amethi
Rajiv Pratap Rudy BJP Senior leader
Piyush Goyal BJP Union Minister
Ujjwal Nikam BJP Senior leader
Karan Bhushan Singh BJP Senior leader
Chirag Paswan LJP (Ram Vilas) Party chief, contesting in Hajipur
Omar Abdullah Jammu and Kashmir National Conference Senior leader
Rohini Acharya Rashtriya Janata Dal Contesting in Saran, daughter of former Chief Minister Lalu Prasad Yadav

Who are the key candidates in the fifth phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2024

Here’s a breakdown of the number of constituencies in each state or union territory for the fifth phase of the Elections 2024:

State/Union Territory Number of Constituencies
Bihar 5
Jammu and Kashmir 1
Jharkhand 3
Ladakh 1
Maharashtra 13
Odisha 5
Uttar Pradesh 14
West Bengal 7

Which parties rule the states that are being polled in the fifth phase?

  • The BJP governs Madhya Pradesh and Uttar Pradesh
  • Maharashtra and Bihar are governed by the BJP and its coalition partners
  • Odisha is governed by the NDA-aligned Biju Janata Dal (BJD)
  • Jharkhand is governed by the INDIA alliance led by Jharkhand Mukti Morcha 
  • The All India Trinamool Congress party has governed West Bengal since 2011
  • Jammu & Kashmir, and Ladakh are governed directly from New Delhi.

Also Read: Elections 2024: Who Will Lead India? What’s At Stake For Businesses? 

The Bottom Line

The fifth phase of India’s 2024 Lok Sabha Elections is critical. It covers 49 constituencies across six states and two union territories. Key candidates include prominent leaders from major parties battling in Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, and Bihar.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many states are there in India in 2024?

There are over 28 states and 8 Union Territories in India in 2024.

Who is the first lady CM of India?

Sucheta Kriplani is India’s first woman chief minster.

Who was the one-day CM of India?

Jagdambika Pal was the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh for 1 day in 1998.

What is the age limit of MP?

25 years is the minimum age to become a member of the parliament.

What is the age limit for MLA in India?

The age limit for MLA in India is 25 years to be a member of the legislative assembly and not less than 30 years to become a legislative council member.

Must Read:


Leave a Reply